Oats so Nutritious – Classic Banana and Peanut Butter Porridge

This is my staple go-to breakfast porridge bowl. It’s oats so easy peasy but oats so satisfying and keeps me going till lunchtime.

I’m not going to start the microwave vs pan debate but since I normally make this bowl at work, I make them in the microwave. If I’m using my microwave at home I know I can put it on for 2 minutes and voila perfect oats, however, if I do this at work I get an embarrassing explosion of porridge all over the microwave so I tend to avidly watch them and put the timer on for a minute at a time max!

IMG_20170308_081946_251

Ingredients:

1 large handful of oats (told you I wasn’t good at this precision thing)

1 medium banana

1 generous tablespoon of proper peanut butter*

Water (approx double the amount of liquid to oats is needed but can be adjusted depending on how you like your oats, less water=thicker oats, duh!)

*Make sure the peanut butter you buy is the good stuff. I’m talking no added oil and definitely no added sugars! I make my own peanut butter, Slutty Nutty, and can confirm the only ingredient needed is a bit of salt to bring out the delicious, nutty, flavour.IMG_20170202_234456_485My beloved homemade peanut butter containing nothing but peanuts and a dash of salt.

Method:

Add oats and water to a microwavable bowl.

Microwave for approx 1 minute, give oats a stir and add more water if necessary.

Microwave again for another minute. If oats are still a bit liquidy for your preference microwave a tad longer, or if too thick add a touch more water before sticking back in the microwave.

Once your oats are at the desired consistency add sliced banana and a good old dollop of peanut butter. If your spoon accidently slips into the peanut butter jar twice I won’t judge you promise!

Enjoy!

Verdict:

Have you tried this recipe? Please let me know what you think in the comments below and tag your Honestly Porridge creations at @HonestlyPorridge on Instagram so I can see!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

