Date with Dishoom – Recreating their Date and Banana Porridge

I’m going to start this post by saying if you haven’t already jumped on the Dishoom bandwagon, stop what you’re doing and go eat their food immediately. Infact, even if you’re a frequent Dishoom customer stop what you’re doing and go eat there again. It’s seriously that scrumptious.

Last week I finally got to go to Dishoom for breakfast having previously only been there for dinner. I was really hungover and really wanted an egg naan, however I couldn’t not try the house porridge now could I? I managed to avoid a serious dilemma by doing what I do best and ordering two breakfasts.

Their House porridge is described as ‘Organic porridge oats cooked with milk, banana and sweet Medjool dates. A never- ending portion: if you wish for more, you need only ask. (V)’

Sounds delicious doesn’t it and I can confirm it was! I can also confirm that they do offer free refills. So yes, technically I did have three breakfasts. Zero regrets. Zero shame.

 

IMG_20170309_170210_285

 

As a non-Londoner I really can’t justify the 2 hour round trip to my nearest Dishoom for breakfast everyday even for the bargain price of £3.90. I therefore decided to try and recreate their bowl of yum, based upon this recipe in The Times from the Dishoom chefs themselves. My tweaked version made one giant bowl of yum.

Ingredients:

1  giant handful of rolled oats (approx 30g)

1 Banana

30g  of dried, pitted dates plus 1 extra date to finish

200ml milk

Method:

Slice the banana and roughly chop the dates.

Reserve about 5 slices of banana and 1 slivered date but add the rest to a pan with about 150ml water.

Cook on a medium heat for about 10 mins until the banana and dates break down into a lovely thick, gooey mixture. Stir every so often to stop it sticking and burning, you can always add more water if needed!

Add the oats and about 150 ml of milk and give it a good mix.

Cook for 5-8 mins adding the additional milk and/or water if necessary.

Transfer the oats to a bowl and top with a few slices of banana and date slivers.

Verdict:

Untitled-3This was delicious. Sweater and creamier than my usual porridge but also kept me really full!

I found I needed a lot more liquid compared to the ratios used in the Times recipe mentioned above. Even adding extra milk and some water I ended up with a thicker porridge than the one I ate in Dishoom.

Both bowls though had great texture and taste with bits of date and banana incorporated into the creamy oats!

Have you eaten Dishoom’s porridge? What did you think of it? If you try this recipe tag @HonestlyPorridge on Instagram so I can see your delicious creations!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

