Unusual Pearing – Pear and Coconut Porridge

This porridge bowl was initially created entirely by accident (are you noticing a theme with this blog yet?). As a bit of an eco nut, I regularly end up throwing a mix of foods together to avoid food waste, sometimes it works, sometimes is doesn’t, but thankfully this was one of my more successful experiments!  

IMG_20170322_081900_337

I love adding diced pear to my oats as the pear releases loads of delicious juices on cooking making the oats extra yum as they soak up all the juices (this also means this recipe doesn’t need as much liquid as regular porridge!) I had a pear that was starting to look a wee bit sad and was destined for my porridge the next day.* I also had some left over desiccated coconut from making some tasty energy balls. Since the stuff is far too fiddly to get back into the bag, even if you haven’t awkwardly ripped the packaging like I had, I figured I’d just pop the leftovers in a tub and add them to my porridge the next day at work.

I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about a coconut and pear porridge combo however, it actually turned out to be super delicious and after a few tweaks and changes the recipe below was born. Please let me know what you think of it!

*Top tip: If you’re fruit is a little, or even a lot, overripe cooking it with your porridge is a great way to prevent it going to waste, plus riper fruit is often sweeter so makes your porridge even more delicious.

Ingredients:

1 large handful of oats

150ml coconut milk (I use a coconut milk powder which you add water too, as it’s great for small quantities and prevents any waste)

2 tbs of desiccated coconut

1 ripe pear – the riper the better!

1tsp of cocao nibs

Method:

Leaving about 1/4 of the pear to one side, dice the rest into cubes approx 1cm square.

Add the diced pear, oats, coconut milk, and 1.5 tbs of the desiccated coconut to a bowl and give it a good stir before microwaving.

It may take a minute or two for the pear to start releasing the juices so be patient when cooking – they may need cooking for up to 4 minutes. Stop the microwave every so often to stir the oats and add some water if necessary.

Slice the remaining pear into thin slithers and use to top the porridge when cooked. Finally decorate with a few cacao nibs and the remaining desiccated coconut.

Enjoy!

Verdict:

Have you tried this recipe? Let me know in the comments or tag @HonestlyPorridge on Instagram with your creations if you have!

IMG_20170322_082742_291

 

4 thoughts on “Unusual Pearing – Pear and Coconut Porridge

Add yours

    1. Thanks Andrew! Most importantly, it tastes even better than it looks too.

      Honestly Porridge isn’t yet on fb but as soon this changes I will share a recipe 🙂 and thanks for asking 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

