Legend Dairy Chocolate Oats – Overnight Cocao Milk Oats

The first time I made overnight oats I was so unimpressed with my cold bowl of soggy, tasteless oats that I vowed never to eat them again. However, I am a firm believer in second chances and the creation of this bowl completely redeemed overnight oats for me. Turns out they can be delicious!

After a long, tiring training session I figured I’d make some healthy chocolate milk using dates and cocao nibs as a scrumptious pick me up. Halfway through making this I had the brainwave of using this pimped up milk for some overnight oats. The result was amazing, chocolatey but not overly sweet and reminded me of a sophisticated, healthy and natural version of weetos and milk.

IMG_20170327_185122_182

I’d recommend making extra chocolate milk by doubling the recipe below so you get to drink a glass as well as having enough for your oats.

Note: if you don’t have cocao and want to substitute it for some kind of cocoa powder you won’t need to add the dates else your milk will be too sweet. However, I’d totally recommend sticking to cocao as then you can totally say it’s healthy 😉 If you’re not a fan of peanut butter, you’re probably on the wrong blog, but this can be omitted from the milk if you want.

Ingredients:

For the milk:

300ml of milk

3 dried and pitted dates

2 tsp of cocao nibs or cocao powder

1 tsp of peanut butter

For the overnight oats:

1.5 handfuls of oats

250-300ml of the homemade cocao milk

1/2 sliced banana

1tsp of cocao nibs

Method:

For the milk: grind your cocao nibs in a coffee grinder if you have one. (If you don’t have a grinder they can be added whole to the milk they just may not be ground quite as fine). Add to a blender with the milk, dates and peanut butter.

Place your oats in a bowl and pour over about 250ml of the milk. Stir. Leave to rest for a minute before topping up with a bit more milk if required.

Cover your oats and leave them in a fridge overnight to soak.

Drink any left over milk. It’s delicious.

When you’re ready to eat your oats add some sliced banana and a few cocao nibs.

Verdict:

I hope you like this recipe and maybe this has converted you to overnight oats! Please let me know what you think in the comments 🙂

IMG_20170327_185245_492

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Legend Dairy Chocolate Oats – Overnight Cocao Milk Oats

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

