I’m so Hungary – Porridge with Chia Berry Jam, Skyr and Seeds

I’ll hands down admit that knowledge of countries flag’s is not my strong point. Infact, at a charity pub quiz last week I contributed zero to a flag round (and not much else in other rounds too if I’m being honest!).  So, when this morning’s porridge inadvertently resembled a flag, I was pretty clueless as to which country my porridge bowl belonged. Given my love of puns I was pretty damn delighted when Google informed me that it was the flag of Hungary. I’m going to ignore the fact that if I turned the bowl round it could also be Italy’s flag as I don’t have a pun for that.

This also wasn’t intended to be a recipe for the blog but since it looked pretty, tasted delicious and there was so much pun potential I decided it was a sign that I should put it up. Hope you enjoy!

This porridge uses my Berrylicious Chia seed jam which I initially made for my ‘Nuts but I don’t give a Jam’ porridge in celebration of National Peanut Butter Jelly Day in America (yes, that is a thing!) The recipe makes enough to fill 2 x 190ml jars.

Ingredients:

For the jam:

6 strawberries

3 dried and pitted dates

250 g fresh or frozen raspberries

4 tablespoons of chia seeds

4 tablespoons of water

1/2 tsp of honey

A teeny tiny squeeze of lemon juice

For the porridge:

1 large handfuls of oats

1 tbsp of Skyr or similar

1 tbsp of Berrylicious chia jam

1 tsp of pumpkin seeds

Method:

For the jam:

Soak your dates for 5 minutes in some water

Add dates and strawberries to a food processor and blend until smooth (this prevents clumps of dates in the jam, but to save on washing up just add them chopped at the next step).

Add the pureed strawberry dates to a pan with the raspberries, 4 tbsp of water and the chia seeds.

Cook for about 5 minutes while the raspberries break down, stirring the jam every so often.

Add the touch of lemon juice, around 1/2 tsp of honey and cook for a couple more minutes.

Remove from the heat and leave to cool slightly before spooning into jars and placing in the fridge to further set or use immediately on porridge.

For the porridge:

Add double the amount of water to your oats and cook in a microwave for 90 seconds. Give them a stir, add more water if required and microwave for another minute.

Top with the yoghurt, jam and pumpkin seeds to create a beautiful Hungary flag.

Enjoy!

Verdict:

I hope you like this recipe and as always love to read any comments! Also if you try the recipe don’t forget to tag @HonestlyPorridge on Instagram.

IMG_20170330_122022_477

4 thoughts on “I’m so Hungary – Porridge with Chia Berry Jam, Skyr and Seeds

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

