Kiwi to my Heart – Kiwi & Lemon Chia Curd Porridge

The other week as usual I was treating myself to an excessive Sunday breakfast, which, for once wasn’t revolving around porridge. I was visiting my parents for the weekend and they had such delicious fresh bread that my breakfast had to be based around toast.

Slice one was coated in Slutty Nutty peanut butter and topped with sliced banana. Slice two was more experimental and I topped lemon curd covered toast with slices of fresh kiwi. The combination was deliciously sweet and tongue tingly tangy and my god was it good. I’d recommend you try the toast version as well as the porridge recipe below which was inspired by my original zesty creation.

I’m moving house shortly so am trying to use up all of the staples in my cupboard, because of this I used a mix of golden and brown sugars rather than the traditional caster sugars other lemon curd recipes use. It still tasted super scrummy but just produced a slightly darker curd which I feel actually looks a lot more appetising and natural than the luminous yellow store bought stuff.  The addition of chia seeds was a double win as they help to thicken the curd as well as making it more nutritious. The quantities below gave me enough to fill 2 190ml jars plus a couple of extra teaspoons worth which went straight into my mouth (taste testing honest!) If you’re in a rush, shop bought lemon curd can of course be substituted in the porridge recipe. 

Ingredients:

For the lemon curd:

4 free range egg yolks

1 free range egg white

1 tsp of vanilla essence

Juice and zest of 4 lemons

100g of butter

190g sugar

2 level tbsp chia seeds

For the porridge:

1 large handfuls of oats

2 tbsp of good quality natural yoghurt

2 tsp of chia lemon curd

1 kiwi

1/2 tsp of chia seeds (only if you’re not using chia lemon curd recipe above!)

Method:

For the lemon curd:

Whisk together your egg yolks, egg white, lemon juice, zest and vanilla.

Add the butter and sugar to a heat proof bowl set of a pan of simmering water.

Once melted add the whisked egg mix and stir well.

Stir frequently over about 10-15 mins.

Once it can be used to coat the back of a spoon, take off the heat and stir in your chia seeds.

Pour into jars pop in the fridge to thicken.

For the porridge:

Add double the amount of water to your oats and cook in a microwave for 90 seconds. Give them a stir, add more water if required and microwave for another minute.

Add the yoghurt and swirl in the lemon curd – attempting to do this more artistically than I managed.

Top with your chopped kiwi and chia seeds if using.

Verdict:

I hope you like this recipe! Please let me know what you think of the combination and especially if you try the lemon curd recipe! Also don’t forget to tag @HonestlyPorridge on Instagram with any of your porridge bowls.

3 thoughts on “Kiwi to my Heart – Kiwi & Lemon Chia Curd Porridge

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

